Endorsed by




  • famur.jpg
  • logo_angloamerican.jpg
  • logo_doosan.jpg
  • logo_forster_wheeler_beznapisu.jpg
  • logo_ktk_beznapisu.jpg
  • logo_peabody_sponsor.jpg
  • logo_suek_polska.jpg


  • logo_adb.jpg
  • logo_curc.jpg
  • logo_euracoal.jpg
  • logo_gig_new.jpg
  • logo_global_ccs_institute.jpg
  • logo_ichpw_en.jpg
  • logo_iea.jpg
  • logo_khw_dobre.jpg
  • logo_kompania_weglowa.jpg
  • logo_mg_en.jpg
  • logo_pge.jpg
  • logo_sandbag.jpg
  • logo_shenhua.jpg
  • logo_ucg.jpg
  • logo_vgb.jpg
  • logo_wca.jpg
  • logo_wec.jpg


Monday 18 November 2013: World Coal Association High Level Dialogue: coal, technology and climate change - the next decade


Introduction by the Conference Chair: Milton Catelin, Chief Executive, World Coal Association


8:00 – 9:00  Registration, coffee & networking


9:00 – 10:00 Keynote speeches


  • Janusz Piechociński, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Economy of Poland
  • Christiana Figueres, Executive Secretary, UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) 
  • Godfrey Gomwe, Chairman of Climate and Energy Committee, World Coal Association, Chief Executive Officer, Thermal Coal, Anglo American
  • Prof. Jerzy Buzek, Member of the European Parliament


10:00 – 11:30 Global perspectives on coal and climate


Moderator: Sasha Twining, News Presenter


  • Ashok Bhargava, Director, Energy, Asian Development Bank
  • Dr. Stephen O. Andersen, Future Generations Consulting and Director of Research, Institute for Governance & Sustainable Development
  • Brad Page, Chief Executive Officer, Global CCS Institute
  • Paweł Smoleń, President, EURACOAL
  • Christoph Frei, Secretary General, World Energy Council
  • Milton Catelin, Chief Executive, World Coal Association


11:30 – 12:00 Coffee break


12:00 – 13:30 Policy context for clean coal in the EU


Moderator: Brian Ricketts, Secretary General, EURACOAL


  • Bryony Worthington, Founder, Sandbag
  • Jacek Kaczorowski, President of the Board – General Director, PGE GiEK S.A.
  • Humberto Delgado Rosa, Director for Mainstreaming Adaptation and Low Carbon Technology, DG Climate Action, European Commission
  • Bogdan Marcinkiewicz, Member of the European Parliament
  • Dr. Johannes Lambertz, Corporate Advisor on the Energiewende, RWE AG


13:30 – 14:30 Lunch sponsored by Peabody Energy


14:30 – 16:00 Breakthroughs in clean coal technologies


Moderator: John Topper, CEO, IEA Coal Research Ltd.


  • Didier Houssin, Director, Directorate of Sustainable Energy Policy and Technology, International Energy Agency
  • Mike Monea, President, Carbon Capture and Storage Initiatives, SaskPower
  • Giles Dickson, VP Environmental Policies & Global Advocacy, Alstom
  • Delome Fair, General Manager, GE Gasification


16:00 – 17:30 Financing and international cooperation on clean coal technologies


Moderator: Godfrey Gomwe, Chief Executive Officer, Thermal Coal, Anglo American


  • Zola Tsotsi, Chairman, Eskom
  • Annika Seiler, Finance Specialist, Energy Division, East Asia Department, Asian Development Bank
  • Grzegorz Zieliński, Senior Banker, Power & Energy Utilities, European Bank for Reconstruction & Development
  • Prof. Dr. Frank Schultmann, EGTEI – Supervisor, Chair Professor, KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Marion Wilde, Policy Officer, European Commission – EC international cooperation projects on coal


Concluding remarks by the Conference Chair: Milton Catelin, Chief Executive, World Coal Association


17:30 – 19:00 Drinks reception sponsored by Anglo American


19:00 – 22:00 WCA Leadership and Excellence Awards Dinner (by invitation only)


Tuesday 19 November 2013: Technology forum: clean coal technologies, opportunities & breakthroughs


9:00 – 10:00 Registration, coffee & networking


10:00 – 12:00 Innovative uses of coal: investigating coal conversion technologies


Moderator: Prof. Józef Dubiński, Director, Central Mining Institute in Katowice


  • Roman Łój, President, Katowicki Holding Węglowy S.A.
  • Prof. Marek Ściążko, Professor, Institute for Chemical Processing of Coal in Zabrze
  • Julie Lauder, CEO, Underground Coal Gasification Association, UCGA
  • Serge Perineau, President, World CTX
  • Karl Moor, Senior Vice President & Chief Environmental Counsel, Southern Company


12:00 – 13:00 Lunch


13:00 – 15:00: Minimising the climate and environment footprint of coal


Moderator: Dr. Andrew Minchener, General Manager, IEA Clean Coal Centre


  • Hans Joachim Meier, Environmental Technology, Chemistry, Safety and Health, VGB
  • Arto Hotta, Director, Research & Development, Foster Wheeler
  • Ellina Levina, Carbon Capture and Storage Unit, Sustainable Energy Policy and Technology Directorate, International Energy Agency
  • Dr. Lesley Sloss, Principal Environmental Consultant, IEA Clean Coal Centre


15:00 – 15:30: Coffee break


15:30 – 17:00: Prospects for coal: Poland, Europe, World


Moderator: Prof. Maciej Kaliski, Director of the Mining Department, Ministry of Economy


  • Tomasz Dąbrowski, Director of the Energy Department, Ministry of Economy
  • Marek Uszko, Vice-President of the Management Board, Kompania Węglowa S.A
  • Stanisław Tokarski, President of the Board, Towarzystwo Gospodarcze Polskie Elektrownie
  • Mariusz R. Tulinski, Partner, ESI PROSYSTEM INC.
  • Henryk Paszcza, Director, Industrial Development Agency, Katowice Branch
  • Milton Catelin, Chief Executive, World Coal Association
  • Prof. Piotr Czaja, Dziekan Wydziału Górnictwa i Geoinżynierii, AGH University of Science and Technology
  • Ewa Rutkowska-Subocz, Counsel, Head of Environmental Protection and Natural Resources, Dentons


Concluding remarks from the Conference Chair: Milton Catelin, Chief Executive, World Coal Association

WCA Members

  • logo_adaro.jpg
  • logo_anglo_coal.jpg
  • logo_archcoal.jpg
  • logo_bhpbilliton.jpg
  • logo_bma.jpg
  • logo_cat.jpg
  • logo_CNCGC.jpg
  • logo_cosol_energy.jpg
  • logo_ge_mining.jpg
  • logo_glencore.jpg
  • logo_JMM.jpg
  • logo_khw_dobre.jpg
  • logo_mitsubishi.jpg
  • logo_orica.jpg
  • logo_peabody.jpg
  • logo_riotinto.jpg
  • logo_shenhua_group.jpg
  • logo_solid_energy.jpg
  • logo_total.jpg


  • logo_africoal.jpg
  • logo_cire.jpg
  • logo_cornerstone.jpg
  • logo_globalcoal.jpg
  • logo_nettg.jpg
  • logo_polcoaldex_new.jpg
  • logo_tg.jpg
  • logo_wcoal.jpg
  • logo_wv.jpg
  • logo_wysokienapiecie.jpg



Adres e-mail: